Swimming or Yoga?

16 Aug

For months, I’ve been thinking about which class should I join, swimming or yoga? I want to keep a physically fit body as I don’t want to suffer from body pains again like osteoarthritis.

Should I go for swimming class and learn different swim strokes? Honestly, I am a good swimmer. I don’t even have ideas of proper ways to swim… Is it too late for me to start now? I mean, I am 23 and I only spent most of my life running… no other sports.

swimming5

What about Yoga? Based on the responses that I got from posts and comments that I’ve made, Yoga can do great to those who have problems with joints and muscles. Both can help my respiratory system, they can help me improve my reflexes.

yoga-cartoon

It is really hard to choose. Should I keep on doing my research before I decide? How about Yoga in Swimming pool?

url

I still need more time… I can’t have both and I don’t think I can swim while doing Yoga in pool (I am not sure if they will allow me.. no idea.. LOL).

10 Responses to “Swimming or Yoga?”

  1. Britt Skrabanek August 16, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    Make time for both! They are equally awesome. : )

    • kirs10woods August 19, 2013 at 1:32 pm #

      Hi! Have you tried doing both at the same time? I mean, how about twice a week Yoga and once a week swimming? Will that work?

      • Britt Skrabanek August 19, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

        I wish I could swim regularly, but living in Milwaukee, pools are few and far between. Lake Michigan is an ice box, so that is out of the question. : )

        I think that sounds perfect. Yoga twice/week and swimming once/week. Go for it!

  2. Peggy Loflin August 16, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    I would try Aqua Jogging or Deep water exercise for starters. If you are nervous, try a senior or beginner oriented class or possibly u could find a physical therapist to get u going. I use to teach this kind of program and some of my people were not strong swimmers, but loved this workout.

    • kirs10woods August 19, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      Aqua Jogging sounds cool, but I’m not going to deal with physical therapists anymore… I mean, I spent a lot of money and time with my physical therapist (for my osteoarthritis) but it didn’t work for me…reason why I switch to stem cell treatment..

  3. penhanleyPenny August 18, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    Ha! It IS very hard to choose. They are both so good. Both non weight bearing, both with heaps of benefits for body and mind. With swimming you get the palaver of changing and wet hair etc whereas once you learn some yoga you can practise in your pyjamas at home if you want. Tai Chi is like yoga but I reckon easier with many of same benefits and it is excellent for the joints. Specifically targets joints and ligaments – I’d save swimming and yoga for another time and try Tai Chi. It has made my arthritis much better – my legs are stronger and balance better and everything more flexible. – Pen.

    • kirs10woods August 19, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      Thanks for your comment, Pen. I’ve heard Tai Chi before, but I don’t have any ideas about it yet… A friend also advised me to try Muay Thai… I’ve seen billboards and posters offering Muay Thai… Well, honestly speaking, I thought it was just a Thai tea shop!

      • penhanley August 19, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        Ha ha! It does sound like a type of tea. You can buy on the internet DVDs on Tai Chi for Arthritis. The one I use is by the Tai Chi Academy here in Canberra demonstrated by the lovely Fontane, I think her name is. there is a voice-over telling you exactly what to do and it’s pretty easy and makes me feel very good and flexible and strong and balanced.
        Pen.

  4. Niyama Mama August 18, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

    I have arthritis in my knees. I do a lot of swimming and yoga, and I love them both. Both are very easy on my joints. When I go jogging, I can feel my knees afterwards, and sometimes, I get sharp, shooting pains in them.

    If I was only able to take one sort of class, then I would stick with my therapeutic, restorative yoga class. The point of the class is to learn to connect deeply with the body and to find ease in every pose. The teacher talks a lot about how we might move or breathe and works closely with each person in the class. She knows all of our names and all of our physical struggles. In her class, I’ve learned more about my body and the good and bad habits I have in using my body than I have from any other class I’ve taken. I highly recommend giving a therapeutic or restorative yoga class a try.

    • kirs10woods August 20, 2013 at 5:01 am #

      Thank you for your comment Niyama… I am sure you are enjoying your yoga class… 🙂

Leave a Reply

